Chili and Hash Brown casserole.

That half a bag of shredded hash browns has been staring at me for weeks in my freezer.

I made a big breakfast not too long ago. But being that I am pregnant and lazy I bought frozen hash browns instead of shredding my own.

Big mistake.

The hash browns were pretty lackluster, so I had tons of frozen shredded disappointment left in my freezer.

But I am also a cheapskate, so I couldn’t bring myself to toss them. So in the freezer they sat, collecting freezerburn and taunting me.

Today after church I had a stroke of genius, or desperation. Whatever you want to call it. I had to use those hash browns one way or the other.

So I scoured the internet for some basic recipes and found one. I threw some leftover chili into a greased baking pan. Canned would have worked fine in this instance too. I dumped the leftover hash browns on top and pushed it into a 400 degree over for about thirty minutes uncovered. When it came out the chili was bubbly and the hash browns were crispy. I sprinkled some cheddar cheese and spread french onion chip dip on top.

I have to say, I might buy cruddy hash browns more often. Not a bad outcome.

I would have taken some pictures, but I ate it before I realized I forgot the pics. So I took a pic from the internet. Wheeeee!

Here’s a basic recipe that’s easy to re-arrange to your personal likings.

 

Directions:

  1. In a large saucepan, heat the olive oil over medium heat.
  2. Add the onion, chili powder and cumin and cook, stirring, until the onion is soft, about 5 minutes. Stir in the tomato paste.
  3. Add the beef and cook, breaking up the meat, for 5 minutes; season with salt and pepper.
  4. Add the beans and the tomatoes with their juice and bring to a boil. Lower the heat, partially cover and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 20 minutes. ‘.
  5. Transfer to an 8×11-inch baking dish.
  6. Position a rack in the upper third of the oven and preheat to 400*F.
  7. In a large bowl, combine the potatoes and cheese. Scatter the potato mixture over the chili.
  8. Place the baking dish on a baking sheet and bake until the potatoes are cooked through and the chili is bubbling, about 35 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

