The Problem with Pinterest.

What?

Most of you are probably reading my post title and thinking….”what problem? I LOVE Pinterest!”

Yeah, me too ladies. Trust me, that’s what the problem is.

I found the Pinterest website about six months ago, and I have been utterly in love with it ever since then.

http://pinterest.com/

There are so many things to look at! Tons of recipes, DIY projects, beautiful photo galleries and so much more. I’m not much of a social person, so Facebook never piqued my interest. Pinterest on the other hand has captivated me. I could spend hours pouring over the Pin Boards of others.

So again you ask, “what is the problem?” I suppose the problem isn’t with Pinterest itself, but within us.

I think that first we have to be careful about how we spend our time.  It’s so easy for us to get wrapped up in the internet. I have lots of homekeeping friends who occasionally get stuck flipping through Firefox for hours on end, instead of tending to the littles. I have lots of friends who work outside the home, who will sneak about a million peeks a minute at their iPhone instead of working. How many of us are guilty of sitting on the couch right next to our spouse and clicking away on our laptop while more-or-less ignoring him? I know I certainly am.

This isn’t so much an internet problem as it is a priority problem. We let so many things take priority in our lives that probably shouldn’t. For myself I had to create a very specific time limit for internet usage. This includes email checking, blogging, work research and even mindless Pinterest browsing. If my time is up, that’s it. No more for the day. It would be so easy for me to slide into a pattern of constantly using the net instead of devoting my time to important things like studying God’s word, taking care of my family and brushing up on my homemaking skills.

Furthermore, I personally face a huge problem of jealousy while on Pinterest. Each time I log on I see hundreds of pictures of beautiful homes, interesting clothes, ornate cakes and perfect-looking children. Most days I just delight over these visual entertainments, but some days I get extremely bummed out seeing all the neat things other people own, or all the cool skills other people have. How terrible that I let a silly website dictate my mood and heart like that!

I’m certainly not saying that Pinterest is some evil thing. However, it can become a problem for us if we let it become one. Perhaps all of us should examine our internet usage and perhaps make some different choices about how we spend our time. Ask yourself if your favorite websites are becoming a problem for your personal life or walk with God. Better yet, ask your spouse or friends if THEY feel like you have a problem with internet use. They might have insight that you don’t have. I know my husband has always been quite blunt with me when he feels like i’m spending too much time on the computer, and not enough time with him.

Cheers!

-Housewife at Work

Leave a Reply

